Model United Nations Turkey


2-5 December 2016 ● TED University ● #UnitedbyLegacy

Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) is an intergovernmental organization that consists of 57 participating states. The world’s largest security-oriented organization brings about an extensive approach to security which contains politico-military, economic and environmental, and human aspects. Issues like terrorism, security concerns, security building, arms control, human rights, democratization and economic activities are in the scope of OSCE. The secretariat and the institutions of the organization that approximately 3460 people are employed locate in Vienna. The organization comprises of 57 participating states from Europe, North America and North and Central Asia has six official languages: English, French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish. All 57 participating States enjoy equal status, and decisions are taken by consensus on a politically, but not legally binding basis.

The roots of OSCE reach 1970s. Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe (CSCE) was created in the early 1970’s as a multilateral forum for dialogue and negotiation between East and West. The negotiations started in Helsinki on 3 July 1973, and it proceeded in Geneva for nearly 2 years. The process was concluded in Helsinki on 1 August 1975, and the heads of 35 states from Europe and North America signed the Final Act. However, in the post-Cold War era, with the collapse of the Soviet Union and the new security challenges in Europe required new regulations within the organization. The Paris Summit Meeting in 1990 pointed out the beginning of institutionalization and the strengthening of the organization’s role. At the end of the day, the 1994 Budapest Summit changed its name to OSCE.


Under Secretary-General Responsible for the Committee:
Emre İlker Karataş:

Committee Directors:
Yiğit Selimoğlu:
Tayanç Güngör:

Study Guide

Rules of Parliamentary Procedure