Model United Nations Turkey

Internatıonal Court of Justıce

Litai Hotel & TED University ● November 24-27, 2017 #sowisesoyoung


International Court of Justice

International Court of Justice referred as the ICJ, the World Court, or The Hague is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations, and was established in 1945 with the authorization of the United Nations Charter. The Charter establishes the status of the Member States as ipso facto parties before the Court and sets the binding force of the decisions given in any case to which the Member State is a party. The Court functions in accordance with the Statute of the Permanent Court of International Justice, which is annexed to the Charter and forms an integral part of the Charter. The Court has a dual role, which are; first, to settle inter-State legal disputes in accordance with international law, and second, to deliver its advisory opinions requested by the Member States or international organizations considered by the Court as likely to be able to furnish information on the question. Only States may be Parties in cases before the Court. The ICJ is seated in the Peace Palace in The Hague, Netherlands and comprises of a body of fifteen independent judges. The judges of the Court are elected regardless of their nationality and are expected to possess high moral character, which is a qualification required in their respective countries to hold the highest judicial offices or to be jurisconsults of recognized competence in international law.

Under-Secretary-General: Polat Yamaner:

President Judge: Saide Esra Akdoğan:
Vice-President Judge: Mert Dilmen:

Agenda Item: Arrest Warrant of 11 April 2000 (Democratic Republic of Congo v. Belgium)

Study GuideHandbook & RoP